Can You Hear Me Now?

I haven’t been using my new tablet lately for many reasons; one of the biggest being that I’m intimidated by struggling to learn how to use it. Another of the problems is that the volumn just isn’t loud enough for me. The speaker is smaller than what I have on my cell phone, and I had tried using earbuds with it, but couldn’t turn up the volumn loud enough for them to work.

Yesterday I got a phone call from Alexa that the yellow Ford Forcus wouldn’t start again; so I drove to Dothan to see if I could help (even if it was just by giving moral support.) My poor car started rattling and I thought it needed oil, but after checking, discovered something else was wrong. So, while the yellow Focus’ battery was charging so we could take it back to the repair place because I wanted the newly replaced alternator checked since 3 batteries had been replaced (thank God for warrenties) since getting the new alternator in January, Alexa drove my car to Dollar Tree so I could buy some sweetener.

While I was there I found some cheap electronic accessories that might work on my tablet. I purchased another set of earbuds and a plug in speaker. (I figured if they don’t work I’ll only lose $2.00.) The speaker works pretty well with my cell phone, but won’t know about the tablet until I return home.

Then we drove to AutoZone because I thought my Focus might need transmission fluid, but the rep said the noise was coming from a slipped pulley. Once Alexa’s battery was recharged, we drove the cars to the repair place and dropped hers off so they could check it out and get it finally fixed. While there, I asked them to check my car and got the chilling news that a belt had broken and the only thing holding it on the car was that it was smacking the fender! If it came off I could lose power steering, or the car could over heat, or… (I tuned him out because we needed a way to get back to The Kids’ place.)

So I spent the night camped out in The Kids’ living room and am now writing this blog post and looking at my new red mini-speaker while I wait to take my car back to be repaired too. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can You Hear Me Now?

  1. JL Stratton says:

    Car troubles abound! Just be careful driving and get that belt changed as soon as possible. If you need only a new belt, most times Advance Auto or Auto Zone will put it on for you if you purchase one from them. I’m assuming your car uses a serpentine belt? If so, They have a tool with a big long handle to loosen the belt tensioner and replace the belt. Anyway, best of luck to you. I hope you speakers work out. That’s one of the many things I inherited from my time in service-a bad case of tinnitus and hearing loss. It’s nostalgic though because, when It’s quiet, or I’m going to sleep at night, I can still here that turbine engine whining in the background. Lately, I’ve been missing your haiku poems. I really like how they always make so much sense after thinking about it for a minute.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Gosh Jim, you’re so sweet. I got my car fixed (and got 2 new tires put on the front) for a little over $500. Now I think I need to get out and find me a good “shade tree” mechanic cause there’s a bunch more car repairs to do, and limited resources. Do you know of a good one looking for extra money?

Leave a Reply

