Bitch, Bitch, Bitch

Some folks think of the word as a noun; others think of it as a verb, but there are times when it can be both. Take for instance this past weekend when we took The Kids’ little yellow Ford Focus to Jim Whaley Tires in Dothan because of the alternator troubles.

They said nothing was wrong with the alternator and my impression was: They just didn’t want to mess with it because it was under warranty. Now I could be wrong with my assumption, but I was PO’d big time; so I got the keys and took both cars to Firestone. (My car needed work done too, but there was No Way I was getting it done at Jim Whaley Tires.)

We explained everything to the Firestone Customer Rep and he said they would look at it. (I told him my car needed fixing too, but I’d wait until the other one was finished.) The man later called and said they could find nothing wrong with the alternator, and I told him we’d drop off mine when we picked it up.

My car’s running much better now, but Firestone’s Customer Rep had misdiagnosed the problem.  (It was belts instead of the water pump, but “car repair” isn’t an exact science even with all those fancy diagnostic tools) and meanwhile The Kids would once again be walking just as soon as their battery died (3 days maybe).

I was heart sick as I watched them clean out their car as they prepared for what was to come. They now live about 1 1/2 miles from work, but that can be scary if you go in at 4:00 am or get off at midnight and must walk home. So I did what any loving Mama Bear would; I convinced them to let me call the Ozark Jim Whaley location (where the alternator was replaced.) I began my conversation thusly: I’m not happy with you guys and proceeded to tell them the story of having 3 batteries replaced; walking out of their Dothan location (they asked me which one) and having my car repaired at Firestone. I ended with, and I want to know what you’re going to do about it?

Just got a call from the nice Ozark guys and was told that even though they couldn’t find anything wrong with the alternator they’d replace it anyway. Sometimes it pays to Bitch. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

