COPD? C-O-P-E.

Whew! What a week this had been: “Old Age” sneaking up on me whether I like it or not. It was bad enough to know that I might wind up with macular degeneration due to heredity, but I’d always hoped to have good, strong lungs. Alas it seems that’s not the case.

Years ago, while living in Cahokia, IL in the highly polluted industrial St. Louis Metro Area, I watched my father slowly succumb to COPD tethered to what he called “his umbilical cord” (his air machine and portable oxygen). I watched him slowly wither away until he was fighting for every breath and swore I would not do that.

I left Illinois and moved down here almost 10 years ago (leaving most of my family and friends behind) because I knew the climate and pollution was slowly killing me. What I didn’t know was that eventually what I’d attempted to escape would sneak up on me and rob me of my quality of life.

I can’t help wondering if Dad would have chosen oxygen if he’d known what the remainder of his life would be? And, what am I going to do when the doctor contacts me and tells me I flunked my pulmonary function test. (It only took me 2 years to convince him that I had a problem.)

That’s the thing about Life Changes; sometimes we all hope we’ll be wrong, and only time can tell if we are. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

