The Terminator and The Validator

I’m sure you heard of The Terminator – that iconic movie with the one and only Arnold Schwarzenegger playing a cyborg vent on destroying Sarah Conner.  Well today, I was christened “The Validator” by a friend who has been “living” with West Nile Virus for many years.

We met through one of the Dothan, AL Writer’s Groups and have been friends ever since.  Regularly she vents her frustrations to me regarding this debilitating disease, and invariably I wind up validating her concerns or beliefs when her many doctors won’t. 

Today’s conversation was no different.  We were discussing the new rose-colored glasses I just purchased that have improved my vision so much that I can now drive fairly unencumbered at night.  I proved this by driving into Dothan Thanksgiving Night and having dinner with my son after he got off work at Wal-Mart.

In the course of our telephone conversation, I mentioned that I had to be careful and could not afford to get too tired because it strains my eyes too much.  I told my friend that I had a halo around my left eye when I drove home last night at approximately 7:30 pm.  I know it was my left eye and not the right – the one with the macular degeneration – because I kept closing one eye after the other checking to see which one was really bothering me.

Much to my surprise, she loudly proclaimed that she had suspected fatigue could affect her eyes, but could never get any of her many doctors to corroborate her theory.  She blurted out:  “You validate me.”  We both chuckled for a time.  Then I asked her if I could write about this and she said “Yes.”  Thus on November 26, 2010 I became “The Validator.”  Look out Arnold ‘cause here I come!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Terminator and The Validator

  1. James says:

    Whew, I’m glad we got that straightened up. For a while there, I just you were crazy. Naw just kidding. The only crazy I see in you is “crazy like a fox.” I’m glad you are able to validate your thoughts and those of this other person.

    I cannot believe that some doctors would even think about discounting the possibility that fatigue has an affect on conditions within your body. I can see it clearly. We all know that people are more prone to catching an illness from someone else if they are tired.

    Anyway, hope you had a wonderful thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

