A Little Dissension, Please


This is the card of a Census Agent who “visited” me when I didn’t fill out the Ozark Community Survey I received. To be fair, I received the mailed notice to go online and fill out the anonymous survey November, 2015 (I think). The notice also said to wait for a paper form if you couldn’t go online; so I opted to wait… indefinitely.

I was going to write about this sooner, but Sis said that was a bad idea. You know, “Big Brother watching,” etc. So, I waited to see what would happen. Over the months, a few more notices arrived and then one February day (while the landlord was replacing my water heater) a knock on my door revealed the Census Agent.

He was very nice and explained why he was there and that answering his questions should only take about 20 minutes. He asked to come in and I said “Not Today.” I could see his shocked looked as he rummaged for his card and told me to call him to set up a convenient time for us to answer the survey.

After he and the landlord left I forgot about his visit. (Sometimes forgetfulness is good.) A few days later someone tried calling me and when I looked at the number I realized it was the Census Agent. (So much for anonymity.)

This is the text message I sent to the agent after he tried calling me.

“I got your message. I found the paper copy of the survey and filled it out and mailed it after speaking with you last week so there’s no need for you to contact me again.”

His reply was “Who is this?” Meanwhile I feel it’s a win/win because They got their census survey which asked things like: How many tvs do you have, How many computers and cell phones, How many bedrooms in your apartment (2, but I ain’t sharing ’em). And I kept him out of my apartment. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

