Yes Virginia, I Done Good

There are times in life when we all have doubts, and no one really can predict when that will happen. They can be little, like whether or not it will rain or catastrophic, like whether or not our sons and daughters are growing up to be leaders or minions. Every once in awhile if we’re lucky we get a glimpse of who our children will become.

Mother’s Day 2016 uneventfully came and went, but I didn’t mind because my wonderful son had called me May 6 to wish me a Happy Mother’s Day. Besides that, if I got too sentimental I could always peruse the photos of us taken over the years and the new photos he and his wonderful wife Alexa would take when they returned to Panama City Beach, FL the following weekend. 

I did spend Mother’s Day reminiscing, and yes teary-eyed. I always get this way when I think of Mom, and yes the “good mother” doubts creep into my mind and cause even more raw emotion. And let’s face it, you can only use so many tissues on your eyes and nose before your body says “Enough already!”

The Kids returned to PC Beach for their weekend camping trip May 19 and did take some beautiful photos which made me all teary-eyed again. (I’m such a sentimental softee; or to quote Terry Moore from  her movie Second Chances, “You’re just a cactus covered marshmallow.”) 

Well yesterday I finally checked my mail (yes I really do need to check it more often) and discovered the most beautiful Mother’s Day Card with such a cherished, heartfelt note from Bernard Jr that I cried for a half hour! Yes my friends, sometimes if we’re lucky and live long enough we get to witness our little Phoenixs morph into the work ethic driven, honest, dependable guardians they have become thanks to you. Can Life really get any better than that?

  
Me, Bernard and Alexa boarding The Sea Screamer at Panama City Beach, FL April 23 (Alexa’s birthday).

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes Virginia, I Done Good

  1. JLStratton says:

    Wait. Are you living in PC Beach now? It is good to get some affirmation once in awhile that your efforts have paid off. I think that, as we get older, our sentimentality grows-our emotions become easily aroused we become quick to tear.

    • sandrabranum says:

      No Jim, I’m still living in Ozark but wishing I could see well enough to live in PC, FL but there’s too much traffic (like Dothan) for my limited vision; so I must constantly fight to stifle these frustrating feelings.

Leave a Reply

