Reality Check Please!

Reality Check Please! How often have we wished thinking or muttering those words would make everything better (or at least make us believe it was possible). I’ve been lethargic since my ex-husband died July 22 (9 days before my birthday). I wasn’t planning anything fancy, but never expected for his death to affect me so much.

Even this morning I again cried enough to cause my head to get congested which is surprising because after all these years I should have these feelings buried deep enough to keep them from sneaking up on me. Now I find myself wondering if I’ll spend the rest of my days thinking about him instead of celebrating mine and Mom’s birthdays (July 31 and Aug 2) when they recur.

Got into my trusty car at dawn this morning to go to Hardee’s for breakfast and the emergency brake wouldn’t release! Kept pulling the brake up and releasing it, but the back wheel was locked. Finally put the shifter in D1 and then Reverse and got the car to buck backwards like it was bouncing over something which tells me to stop setting the emergency brake and drive the car more often even if it’s just to the gas station.

My reasons for blogging about this is because I don’t want you to make my mistakes. Yes it’s true, some days it is difficult to get moving, but when you really think about it it’s better than doing nothing. Onward my friends! Onward.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reality Check Please!

  1. Take care, Sandra. Best Wishes.

Leave a Reply

