Cherish The Mundane

I know you’re thinking, “What a strange title?” but to those of us with limited vision or a chronic debilitating disease, this title makes perfect sense. So many of us have to struggle to accomplish simple tasks like buttoning a shirt or even rising off the commode unattended that (if accomplished) we’d do cartwheels if we could!

Once there was a time when I’d get in my car and drive anywhere alone (even downtown E. St. Louis, IL which used to be like Ferguson, MO is now). I was never afraid because I trusted my car and my judgment, but those days are gone. Now I have to stay away from crowded cities because traffic moves too fast; (yes, even in little Ozark, AL) and my poor eyes just can’t adjust to the changes that quickly.

So today was a real treat for me. The daily rain had finally stopped; so I climbed into the car and drove to the Ozark Post Office. Traffic was north and south bound on US 231 so all I had to do was cross it and continue past Hardee’s to the post office. Hardee’s Mushroom & Swiss Burgers were so tempting that I used the drive thru and got one which I ate at the post office in a sort of “memorial picnic” like I used to have with my son, Bernard Jr, so long ago.

We used to drive to a fast food drive thru in Cahokia and then go to the park where we would “picnic” in the car and then he would go play with other kids on the playground. Since he was an only child, we did this quite often, especially if there were no Parents Without Partners’ family functions to attend. If it was a Sunday, I’d read the newspaper while he played and when he got tired we’d go feed the ducks and swans. He still likes to feed the birds and he and his beautiful wife, Alexa, still do.

I know this doesn’t sound very exciting to you, but the day may come when doing such mundane things will be a godsend and help trigger cherished memories that you never dreamed could become so priceless; so spend those moments making mud pies with your daughter or playing basketball with your son; take Grandpa to the park and watch him smile as he feeds the squirrels; or take Grandma to the beauty shop and then Dairy Queen like Bernie and I used to do for Grandma. Trust me, the day will come when you’ll be so glad you did! Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

