Bureaucracy At Work

I hope y’all will give me a cyber pat on the back because I finally finished the requested Social Security disability paperwork. It was quite difficult for me because I just couldn’t find a way to truthfully say, I sit on my butt most of the day because I’m afraid of falling when I go outside

The question that baffled me was about what I did all day. I had to ponder that for 2 whole days, and finally wrote it up at 2:30 AM. Eventually I did get around to admitting my falling fear, and do hope it makes me sound normal if there is such a thing.

After mailing off the dreaded paperwork, I called the Mobile (AL) office to inform them (because my 10 days was way past due). 

Nobody answered the phone and I couldn’t remember the rep’s extension; so I redialed and this time pressed “0” for the operator. The phone rang and rang. I stopped counting after 10 rings and finally hung up. Then I went rummaging around for something with the rep’s extension number. When I called back I immediately got her and we chatted a bit.

Now I can truthfully say I understand why people get so frustrated with the government bureaucracy. When I worked for St Louis’ OSHA office we spent $20,000 of our budget buying a computer phone system like the one I heard this morning, but weren’t allowed to really use it because our Regional Administrator wanted a live person answering phones. 

I must admit that after this morning I can understand why people get so frustrated and mistrust the government, especially since I sometimes feel that way too. But I like to think that things haven’t changed that much in the 13 years I’ve been retired from government service, and hope that together we can make it better. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bureaucracy At Work

  1. JL Stratton says:

    As the role of government becomes greater, so does bureaucracy. We must allow some government intrusion in order to be provided safety nets for those affected by sudden changes in our socio-economic system. We also should allow the benefit and safety of some government regulation of businesses and corporations that might affect the individual citizen in a negative way. Of course there is always the danger of an expanded government increasing its control over the populace in a way that negatively affects some or all of the nation’s citizens. Personally, I’ve grown tired of this political derision as of late. I fear logging onto my facebook account now as we approach the next presidential election cycle because people on both sides of our political belief system have become brainwashed to their party’s thinking. Dare I say that what we need instead, is a willingness to compromise for the benefit of our nation’s people. We must elect those that are willing to put their ideologies aside when necessary for the greater good. Instead, I find those on the left moving farther to the left and those on the right moving farther to the right. Both sides have committed acts of good and bad throughout most of our nations’ history.
    okay, I guess I lost my point here. I think that, for the above reason, people mistrust the government but I also think it is because the government has proven itself over and again as wasteful and sometimes incompetent in matters of social and fiscal responsibility. But, in our republic, there is always the hope and capability for change in some small part with each new congressional and presidential administration. One cannot find that in most other societies.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Great minds think alike, and I agree with you Jim, but many people mistrust the Government because of what they have or haven’t done like telling us about Jade Helm 2015 and Agenda 21. I’m hoping that the people will force a Constitutional Amendment to do away with the Electoral College so that Independents will have a chance at becoming POTUS and we can finally do what’s best for US.

Leave a Reply

