SSA, SSI And Me

It’s been pretty hectic around here since I applied online for Medicare. Weeks later, my Medicare benefit and Social Security are finalized and I’ll be getting $238 monthly from Social Security in addition to my Government pension. Alas it seems that I’ve also requested disability due to my limited vision, and have received forms in the mail that must be filled out and returned to Mobile, AL.

For years I’ve been a pack rat because I kept so much paperwork, but you never know when you’ll have to verify something (like salary or employment). Well recently I pitched a bunch of paperwork I thought was no longer needed, and I was wrong! Now I’m trying to find something that shows how much money I was making from  2000 – 2005 and where I was employed after I retired from OSHA in 2002. Naturally I can’t find a paper copy of an old resume, and even logged onto my old computer to see if I might have it on the hard drive along with my old scripts and poetry. No such luck; so I started rummaging around again and did find old award paperwork and some awards too.


Makes me feel better to be reminded of sacrifices I made as a single, working mother (and the extra money was nice too). Now I hope I can locate what I need to fill out this dang disability paperwork. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SSA, SSI And Me

  1. barbtaub says:

    I think you can request copies of prior tax returns (online) from the IRS. Good luck with the paperwork!

Leave a Reply

