Phone Tag, I Hate You

For the past week I’ve been playing phone tag with a Social Security Rep. You know the scenario, she calls and leaves a message; I call and leave one…  Well all that changed Monday when I called again and left another message and stayed home waiting for the call back which occurred at 8:15 am Tuesday (April 21) morning. 

I wasn’t prepared for such an early call back and was in the kitchen getting some ice tea at the time. By the time I reached for my cell I had cut the lady off (which is something I do quite often with my cell). I quickly called back and heard the annoying “The office is currently closed…” so I tried to connect with the rep’s extension, and after calling back 3 times I finally succeeded. She’s a very nice lady and I may get lucky and get a little disability stipend if Social Security agrees that I really can’t see out of my right eye (unless you consider grayish white blobs).

Yesterday afternoon I received a phone call from a rep at the Mobile Social Security Office re my disability claim. I answered her questions and she asked if I were willing to see an eye doctor of their choosing. I said yes, and now I’m hoping that if I do they’ll pay for it. Meanwhile the worst that can happen is I won’t get any disability, but my little Social Security check will pay for my Medicare Part B. Can’t wait to get my $238 May 1 which will decrease when Medicare starts in July.

Now what can I spend this money windfall on? Oh yeah, groceries. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phone Tag, I Hate You

  1. Oh, ouch, and good luck 😀

Leave a Reply

