April Fools!

Somehow it seems fitting that today should be the day I’m forced to sign up for Medicare. Trust me; I wouldn’t do it if it wasn’t the law, but President Clinton forced federal employees into Medicare back in the ’80s so alas I have no choice. 

I just love how these websites tell you filling out the online form only takes a short while. (That’s like telling a child not to worry cause the shot won’t hurt). Well I have been agonizing over this for sometime, but knew there was no way to get out of it. I decided applying online would be easier than driving to Dothan, and time will tell if I was right or not.

You cannot sign up for Medicare at Medicare.gov cause that would be too simple! You have to go to the Social Security website. That would be simple too if you could just sign up for Medicare, but you have to fill out the form as if you’re signing up for Social Security. And the website states that it should only take about a half hour (maybe if you’re a robot or computer). 

I began filling out my form around 6pm, and had to keep closing it out and reopening it every time I got to another section. Whenever I got to an explanation section, I kept typing “I’m only applying for Medicare because the law requires it.” I finally finished about 9:15 pm, and have learned that I’ll probably wind up going to Dothan so I can verify that I really need disability because of all my eye shots. And I only did this because “It’s the law!” Onward?

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April Fools!

  1. barbtaub says:

    I’m not sure I understand your objections to Medicare, but I fully sympathize with your objections to the process!

Leave a Reply

