Do I?

I’ve been agonizing over Medicare. You see I turn the Big 65 in July. (Yes I really am a geriatric hippie like I keep saying). Anyway, as I said I’ve been agonizing over this legal requirement. I swore years ago that I would never sign up for social security because I don’t want any of my pension money stolen from me. But Medicare is required by law, or so I thought, until I found this info today. 

The first choice we must make is whether or not to sign up for Medicare at all. Yes, we do have that option if we are not covered under TriCare (the military retirees health care program). OPM along with the FEHB health care providers encourage you to apply for Medicare benefits 3 months before you turn 65. OPM states, “if you are entitled to Part A without paying the premiums, you should take it, even if you are still working. This may help cover some of the costs that your FEHB plan may not cover, such as deductibles, coinsurance, and charges that exceed the plan’s allowable charges.”

(Courtesy of fedretire.net)

I’m happy to know I have a choice, and I have until April 1 to decide. Somehow it seems fitting that April Fool’s Day should be decision day. Guess I can get back to my income tax now. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

