Annoy There, Matey

Life, you sneaky enigmatic time element. Good days and bad all rolled together in a “Big ball” as Doctor Who would say, but how you react to those bits of time can either “make or break you.”

Things had been pretty hectic this past week: me camping out at The Kids’ new place while we tried (and finally succeeded I hope) to get both cars fixed. My car was repaired last Sunday and Bernie & Alexa’s (after explaining the story over and over and over again) on Tuesday. (We beg you to keep your fingers crossed because I doubt I could harass these guys enough to get it repaired “under warrenty” again).

Thursday (March 19), the a/c guys came to check the units. My gut instinct was to refuse, but I’m renting so cannot always heed my little voice. Well the guys did such a good Job that the fan comes on and won’t turn off unless I manually turn it to off and it’s just the fan that works, not the compressor. Lucky for me, it’s been fairly cool at night so I’ve managed. (I won’t sleep with the windows open at night) and am now waiting for the repairman to come as I write this.

“Would you believe” as Maxwell Smart would say that my car repairs were botched up? The man who checked the car Friday (March 13)  said it needed a water pump, but it was some belt instead. I ordered a replacement windshield wiper for the front and one for the car’s back window. I clearly stated I needed one on the front and one on the back and mentioned it again when I got the call telling me what was really wrong with the car. I picked up the car Sunday, and again asked about the wipers, and the man said they were replaced. It rained Sunday on the way back to Ozark, and the front wipers worked great, as they should have, considering that I discovered the back wiper was not replaced and I only asked about it 4 times over 2 days!

Now I could drive all the way back to Dothan and waste all that gas for a wiper blade, but then I’d miss the a/c guys who’ll probably take the whole day returning. sigh Guess I’ll go make some lemonade. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Annoy There, Matey

  1. barbtaub says:

    Sorry to hear about the slings and arrows but…BEST blog post title ever!

  2. JL Stratton says:

    When it rains, it pours. Except for southern California. It never rains there, but when it does, man, it pours. Life-I’ll never get it figured out.

Leave a Reply

