Need A Push?

I got a phone call from The Kids yesterday inviting me to come see their new place. I said I’d come visit today and am now slowly preparing to go. Now I could blame my procrastination on the time (Daylight Savings, you suck!) but it’s really more complicated than that.

You see, when Bernie was little and I was a single, working mother “my time” was pj time. I told myself that as long as I was in my pjs my day hadn’t begun. (I know, ol’ Sigmund Freud would’ve had a ball analyzing this, but I digress).

Now my Little Love is married to his wonderful Alexa and still I love my pj time. I tried explaining this to Alexa when they lived here, and believe that this habit could’ve rubbed off on Bernie, but let’s face it: there are just some days when you need help whether physical or mental and you have to find ways to cope or go crazy.

Living across the driveway from Mom & Dad created many of those kinds of days: some days I would escape work and come home and hide my car so my parents wouldn’t know I was home. Dad had this really bad habit of wanting something as soon as he saw the car, but as I reflect on my life I realize it wasn’t anyone’s fault.  It was just Life being a pain in the arse. I mean, let’s face it, nobody expects to be debilitated or age ungracefully, but it happens. And maybe you’ll be one of the lucky ones who it doesn’t happen to and maybe not. My wish is that you’ll all be strong enough to face whatever Life throws at you. Well I gotta get out of my pjs now cause I have a new day to face. (Ol’ Sigmund would be so proud.) Onward..,

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Need A Push?

  1. JL Stratton says:

    I hear ya! My wife and I experience all day pajama days sometimes on the weekend… Well, my wife more than me. I can’t sit still for long. I need to get up and outside and do things. This is not to imply my wife does not do things. She has the ability to actually get stuff done in “pajama mode” while I tend to go into a dark corner and write or watch television. You’re right though, everyone needs time to decompress now and then, even if it would seem to others that one did little to need decompression. I also think that, as writers, we need more alone time for thoughts and writing.

Leave a Reply

