Countdown, Say It Isn’t So

This is the final week that The Kids will be here and I’m both excited and apprehensive. They plan to pick up the U-Haul Thursday (Feb 26) and move out the boxes scattered throughout the house into their trailer in Dothan. When they finish, there won’t be much left but plenty of empty space (just like in my heart).

I know I shouldn’t be so maudlin, but I hate to see them go. I got spoiled having them here; though we did aggravate each other. I keep teasing them about not being around to referee, but we’ll all be able to live our own lives and they’ll be back in Dothan close to Alexa’s family.

If my eyes were better I’d move to Dothan too, but they aren’t so there’s no sense dwelling on it or I’ll get all stressed out again and I sure don’t need any horrible coughing spells. My eyes hurt, but I figure it’s the stress causing it (and that’s still better than coughing until I’m breathless).

I’m slowly adjusting my schedule. If I wake up at 2:00 AM and can’t go back to sleep, I watch a movie. If I sleep in until noon I can stay up late if I choose. I’ve been recording movies on the DVR to watch at my leisure; so I’ll always have something to do.

I returned to the writer’s group (thanks to Bernie) and if I can find a ride once The Kids move, I plan to regularly attend. It feels strange, but at this moment everything does because I’m starting over again. I want my freedom; so that means staying here where I can drive myself to the store (1 1/2 miles away). I just have to be careful and not be in a hurry (which is hard to do when there’s buku traffic like in Dothan). Sometimes in life ya just gotta take the bitter with the sweet and move on…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

