Reflections Of Me

Sometimes I wish Mom were still alive so I could ask her “eye” questions. As I recall, there were numerous opportunities to have had long talks about vision loss, but since my eyes were ok at the time, I never thought about it and I’m sure paying for it now.

I know Mom used to have trouble with the sun, but never realized it was due to the glare. If she were here I would ask for her confirmation, but she’s not so I can only speculate about this. I think the severe glare is caused by the eyes’ magnifying reflection on the lenses. I’ll try to explain as simply as I can; sometimes I see parts of my face reflected in my glasses. And the brighter the sun shines the more severe the glare I see reflected (or is it refracted) in my lenses.

You know how it is when you’re driving into the sunlight; well with my vision loss it’s magnified (like when your eyes are dilated). I have no idea why this is, but suppose it has to do with Nature trying to compensate, like when your other senses increase because you lose one.

Anyway, I now see my face reflected in my cell phone which makes it hard to watch Hulu and Netflix, especially at night because I need so much light due to my limited vision and the more light I use, the stronger the reflection. I have the same problem with my laptop which is why I rarely use it anymore. In order for me to see the screen I have to have the lid at a 90 degree angle and that ruins the lid if I move it up and down too much. (That’s also why I never close it unless I’m moving it.)

Anyway I was tired of looking at this tiny cell phone screen (it’s easier to read captions cause it’s close to my face;) so Ms Brainiac bought herself a 7″ tablet. Bernie & Alexa had been raving about how much they liked theirs (each bought the other one for Christmas) so I decided to get one too.

I’ve had mine since Thursday, and this is what I’ve discovered so far… It’s nice watching a 7″ screen as opposed to a 3″ one. The volume is louder on my cell phone than on the tablet, and now I see 7″ of my reflected face as opposed to 3″ “glaring” back at me. I’m trying to figure out how I can hold the tablet so my reflection won’t be so bad, but until the volume problem is corrected, it really doesn’t matter. Onward…

PS Yes I now realize that a desk top computer would have been a better purchase for me, but laptops are easier to pack up and carry. Who knows, part of these problems might disappear if I’d start getting eye shots again, but even thinking about that causes mild panic attacks.

Sis has cataracts and can’t decide what to do. How I wish my problem were that simple… Such is Life.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reflections Of Me

  1. Hi Sandra ~ there are anti-glare reduction screens on Amazon you might want to check out 🙂
    Let me know if one works for you! Have a wonderful day!

  2. Tanveer Rauf says:

    Hi Sandra I also feel comfortable with my desktop. i get confused with laptop, because i cant blind type, i see the keyboard then type neither i’m comfortable with smart phones lolz, being so young of age, i’m only 65 🙂

    • sandrabranum says:

      I know what you mean, Tanveer. I tried using my tablet to reply to your kind comments regarding being “techo challenged” and had to resort to my trusty I-phone again. Don’t know what I’ll do when I have to upgrade this phone! lol

      • Tanveer Rauf says:

        stay blessed 🙂 hugs

      • sandrabranum says:

        Thanks Tanveer. I need all the help I can get just like the rest of us. When my son was little and used to ask about his father, I used to tell him to pray for him cause he needs all the help he can get just like the rest of us. You cannot imagine how those words have comforted me through the years. And the hugs are nice too.

      • Tanveer Rauf says:

        I understand dear friend. I lost my hsband too in 1984. my four children were minor then. i went through very hard time. i convinced my children that their father was a chosen one by Allah so hes happy in heavens above. but i worked like donkey sleeping only for few hours only. well time is the best healer. 🙂

  3. sandrabranum says:

    Tanveer, so sorry for your loss. We are survivors and will manage somehow.

Leave a Reply

