Wrecking Ball

Shards of broken memories
scatter the ground like rubble
as the wrecking ball swipes
against the old church building.

I should not have come,
but was drawn to the devastation
like a moth to a flame.
I stand here watching and wondering
if I’ll be strong enough to overcome this pain?

The ball slams again leaving a gaping
hole in the shell of my childhood
memories.

I turn and stumble away before the
bulldozer comes to scrape up these
childish dreams and dump them like yesterday’s trash.

IMG_0540

IMG_0539
My childhood home, 565 Mildred Ave, before the fire that destroyed it.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wrecking Ball

  1. Barbara Gambill says:

    Did they tear it down? I haven’t been over that way in awhile. Once this weather breaks I will try to get over there. We had so much fun there.

    Barb G

Leave a Reply

