If At First…

How do you define success and failure? If you fail at something, do you try again; or rethink the problem and start over; or just give up?

We were denied guaranteed USDA funding on our dream home and I was told to contact the USDA directly and apply for a subsidized loan. I researched the loan requirements and discovered that everyone’s income who lived with me would have to be declared. This defeats the purpose of even trying for this particular loan and after a week of agonizing over what to do I chose to stop dreaming about this house.

Am I disappointed? Oh yes, but I take comfort in the words I droned into my young son’s head while he was growing up, and shared with Alexa super early Tuesday morning, “There are no guarantees in life, but if you don’t try you’ll never succeed.”

This mantra has served me well over the years: through my attempt and failure at marriage; through the many, many times I applied for OSHA promotions, and relationships that ebb and flow like the changing tides.

As I explained to Alexa, this doesn’t mean we won’t get the house; it just means it’s not happening now. This house had been on the market for over 569 days and could be listed for many more years. That gives us time to get bills paid off and save more money, and like I said, if at first. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, God, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

