Oy Vey

You remember the painting(s) called “The Screamer” where the man cups his face in his hands and screams? Well that’s how I feel.

We had some problems with our dream home, and I’ve been trying to solve them, but as you know, sometimes that’s not easy to do.

We had called an electrician/plumber to come inspect the house and never got a call back. The bank asked for my account information and a verification of annuity to prove my income. We sent the bank information (which took my son many hours to compile Jan 16) and when he was done our loan officer emailed and said she still needed the annuity verification.

Yesterday was spent trying to contact (OPM.gov) to get the needed paperwork because Monday was Jan 19th (Martin Luther King Jr Day) and a Federal Holiday. Contacting OPM without accessing the website is conducive to burning your scalp with a curling iron. It took hours to get through which is pretty silly considering it was a Federal Holiday which the computer was kind enough to tell me once I got through. The highlight of Monday was that we got a call back from another electric/plumbing company we had contacted about inspecting our dream home on Saturday and was told they would check their schedule and call us back.

Tuesday (Jan 20) I spent close to 3 hours on the phone trying to contact OPM and when I finally got through the lady “kindly” told me to wait 24 hours for a temporary password so I could log onto the website and download my annuity proof. (Really, you ask? Yes, really.) Sometimes I’m ashamed to say I ever worked for these clowns.

I fought with OPM’s website this morning to go online with the temporary password and change it. I viewed my annuity verification using my cell phone, but could not print it. Next on my to do list is a wireless printer/fax because I NEVER want to have to go through this shit again. (Yes I wrote shit, but in my defense I thought of much worse!)

And now I’m writing this tale of woe as I psych myself up to log onto my computer to see if I can send the annuity proof without having to mosey to the library. The one consolation of this lesson in tenacity is that Jan 27th we have an appointment for an electrician to come inspect our dream house’s wiring; so the dream(?) lives on. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

