Baking Time

The Kids (my son and wonderful daughter-in-law) have been buying all sorts of sweets. They bought candy for our Christmas stockings (which got eaten long before Christmas) and recently purchased cheese cake, cookies, and mini cupcakes.

I love all this stuff, but just can’t eat it anymore because it causes my blood sugar to fluctuate too much. Of course every time my blood gets tested it’s in the high normal range, but that doesn’t explain the dizzy/sickly feeling I get if I devour too much of the heavenly goodies.

So today (after scarfing down almost 1/2 of the mini cupcakes) I mixed up a homemade blueberries & cream instant oatmeal coffee cake and here is my result.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/70c/16525202/files/2014/12/img_0528.jpg Notice the lack of icing; since I’ll probably be the only one eating this, I don’t need it.

I used to cook like this all the time when my son, Bernie was young. I called it “creative cooking.” I used to create some of the most outlandish concoctions: vegetable pancakes with cheese sauce, Velveeta cheese biscuits, grape jelly oatmeal.

Dad began Bernie’s unique eating habits when he fed him egg foo young for breakfast. Bernie would go next door (across the driveway) and wait for the school bus. Dad told me not to worry about feeding him, and I was grateful for that.

Dad loved fixing breakfast for Bernie. It made him feel useful and he didn’t have to eat alone. Dad would rummage around in the ‘fridge to see what was leftover and then he’d create. Left over pizza became pizza omelets for two. Scraps of chicken, pork or beef became egg foo young.

I was never as good at creative cooking as Dad was, but slather anything with either cheese sauce or jelly glaze and Bernie loved it. Hmmm. Wonder if he’d want to try my blueberries & cream oatmeal coffee cake? Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

