Sea Serpent Of Santa Rosa Lake; Kayaking With A Diamondback Rattlesnake (#371)

I didn’t know snakes like to swim. Did you?

Tin Can Traveler

A welcome break in my travels, Santa Rosa Lake state park.  I had booked one night, but after arriving booked a total of three.

Peace, solitude, the beauty of the high desert with a lake in its midst.  The weather sunny with a light breeze.

On my second day, I took the kayak out for a paddle.

Quiet beauty of a high desert lakeQuiet beauty of a high desert lake with a rich blue endless sky

Santa Rosa Lake, New Mexico ~ created by a dam on the Pecos RiverSanta Rosa Lake, New Mexico ~ created by a dam on the Pecos River

Autumn Foliage out in its full glory.From my kayak I saw Autumn Foliage out in its full glory.

I leisured in seeing the sun struck waters off my bowI leisured in seeing the sun-struck waters off my bow.  An afternoon idyll, timeless; etching its memory on all the senses.

Dona Serpiente swimming quite near my kayakThen out of my reverie came a swimming sea serpent: a diamondback rattlesnake.  I called her, Dona Serpiente (Lady Serpent), swimming just off the starboard bow of my kayak.

Oddly, I have never…

View original post 117 more words

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sea Serpent Of Santa Rosa Lake; Kayaking With A Diamondback Rattlesnake (#371)

  1. Hi Sandra ~ thank you so much for the reblog! I am so happy to share this wonderful experience and photos with you!

Leave a Reply

