Kick Start Your Dreams.. Maybe

I was perusing Facebook today and saw the big news of the day (or so it seems) potato salad or should I say the making of it, is being funded by Kickstarter! Now the question is: Whom is the joke really on? Is it the folks who turn to Kickstarter like Jerry Lenz who’s making the horror film I Juice Your Brain co-starring my cousin Lynn Lowry. (His campaign is almost finished, and Jerry still needs money so here is a link if you’re interested.). https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/jerrylentz/i-juice-your-brain Or how about the campaign to supply urns for unclaimed soldiers’ remains? https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/126738212/urns-for-unclaimed-veterans

I have written many times about how we can help others and it seems that Kickstarter is a wonderful way to do this, but what bothers me about this lending platform is that the jokes seem to be more important than the worthy causes? Now I realize being worthy, like beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but potato salad? I know that the media has great input on what gets funded and liking a cause, like Veronica Mars’ new movie and Reading Rainbow sure helps, but I can’t get over the money pledged for potato salad, unless thousands of homeless folks are going to be fed this golden food. I can see it now: people lining up, waiting… just like in the soup kitchen. Perhaps it’s not such a bad idea after all…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

