What A Motivator!

Happy almost over Independence Day Weekend! I hope y’all have made some happy memories with family and friends. That’s the thing about memories, they sneak up on you at some if the darnedest times and you can either try to ignore them or give in to whatever feelings they evoke.

Such is the case with the sorrowful news about my niece’s cornea erosion. On the one hand, I’ll now have someone to compare experiences with, such as: she told me she spent the time watching the fireworks display with eyes closed, and I told her that sunlight killed Mom’s eyes. I can relate to that now because I understand how much my eyes strain to focus and then along comes a bright blast of light searing the poor overworked eyes trying so desperately to make some semblance of a shadowy half lighted image.

I told my niece to google clinical trials and see if she might be a candidate. I’ve already researched for me, but there are too many things that can happen to the retina and macula for any help for me at this time. I hope she gets lucky and wish Mom would have been braver, but Fear is something we must all deal with in our own way, and let’s face it: some days we’re braver than others.

I wouldn’t be going to Comic Con this Sept if I hadn’t been so broken hearted over missing the FanX last April, and even winning a free pass for it I couldn’t use. I don’t even know if I’ll get altitude sickness while I’m there, but I’m sure gonna find out!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, macular degeneration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

