Bolster Me, Bolster You

Sometimes we need help getting up to sally forth and continue battling our demons, and sometimes we are compelled to help others do the same. Today was one of those days. It seemed like such a normal day as I logged onto Facebook to catch up on what was happening. I read a post from my niece stating she has been to the eye dr because of eye troubles. I also saw a message from her and was saddened to read that she’s going to lose her sight too. DANG Eyes!

I wrote her back and told her: the hardest thing is not to panic. I STILL have to remind myself of this and it’s been 5 years! Now you can cuss, cry and pray or you can pull yourself up (usually after hysterics) and carry on… I know because I have to regularly do this.

I wish I could wave a magic wand and spare her. I’ve wished this many times over the years for many people, but in life we don’t always get to pick and choose; we just get to live and win or lose. Her vision loss is due to cornea erosion; so maybe she’ll be lucky and her eyes will be fixable. Mine are not, but that doesn’t mean give up; it just means you need a little extra support from time to time…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in friendship, macular degeneration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bolster Me, Bolster You

  1. JL Stratton says:

    I wish the best for you and, although I cannot fully understanding everything you (and your niece) are going through. I can empathize. As you know, I’ve also been struggling with some vision problems. Come to find out, I somehow developed scarring on my right cornea. The doctor said it had to have happened recently and I’m led to wonder if it happened when I had surgery on my eye some time ago. I suppose just a simple slip of the scalpel could cause such damage and I would not have felt it as the whole area was all numbed up.
    Again, the best to you. Keep fighting the good fight. Please speak up if you want to go to a group meeting and need a ride. We miss you.

Leave a Reply

