Save A Little, Spend A Lot

Well today I cancelled my hotel reservations for the Comic Con. Why, you ask? It’s because I got a better deal! Hotels.com regularly emails me with special deals, and sometimes I can take advantage of them.

I did this in 2010 when I visited my childhood friend Barb (also affectionately known as The Gadabout). What I did then was make hotel reservations which I later rebooked at a cheaper price and then cancelled the original reservation. And I was lucky enough today to do the same thing with the fancy Marriott (across the street from The Salt Palace) reservation.

I had made my reservation in April because I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to get a room if I waited. I got a good deal (so I thought) until I started seeing all these extra charges: $12.95 per day for internet and a daily breakfast charge, and my room was costing $275.00 per night! Well all that changed today when I got an email from Hotels.com telling me about a half off sale; so I checked and my hotel was booking rooms for $200.00 a night! Of course I still may have to pay for these extra charges, but who cares when my bill has been decreased from $1100.00 to $896.00! Now I’ll have more money to spend on other things like photo ops maybe. Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in friendship, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

