Goodbye Old Friend

20140620-142950-52190781.jpg
This is me all dolled up in my striped Capri pants, and yes this is Outfit #2 for my trip in Sept. Why am I all dolled up since I never go anywhere, you ask? I drove to the bank! It’s a bit of a drive for me because the closest Regions Bank is in Dothan. I’ve had my account with them since 1990 when the bank was known as Union Planters and my statement is still mailed from the Cahokia, IL branch.

The day was so uneventful just a typical warm June day. I made my $100 cash deposit and drove back home. I have no idea why I was compelled to check my bank balance, but the computer voice said I had $45 in my account! I had the computer play all the transactions and there were 3 for June 17th. More research revealed bogus debit card charges and an overdraft fee added to my account.

20140620-150120-54080006.jpg
I called the bank and was told that I would have to fill out and sign an affidavit explaining what happened and to destroy my debit card. Cutting up that card felt like I was destroying a cherished heirloom. Who would have guessed that a piece of plastic could cause such emotion, and what would I do while I waited for my new debit card? Meanwhile supposedly I’m the proud owner of some sort of slimming stuff that only cost $74.99 plus the $36 overdraft fee as you can see from the second photo.

And how did this happen? I racked my brain trying to remember what I could have done to cause this, and then I remembered: I ordered a writer Tshirt from Facebook!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye Old Friend

  1. Barbara Gambill says:

    So did they get it straightened out? Don’t you just love it when stuff like this happens? I don’t. Have had some problems in the past and just aggravates the heck out of me. Have fun on your trip .
    Barb G >>> the Gad About from your old neck of the woods.

    • sandrabranum says:

      They’re still working on it. I’ll be getting a new debit card in the mail, but will have to submit a signed affidavit regarding the bogus charges. Such fun!

Leave a Reply

