The Parting Of The Ways

20140531-054631-20791839.jpg

20140531-054633-20793437.jpg

20140531-054628-20788672.jpg

20140531-054630-20790286.jpg

20140531-054633-20793758.jpg

There comes a time when we all must say “goodbye” whether it be due to life or death, mistakes, or just because you know in your heart it’s the right thing to do. May 30 we said goodbye to Little Macy. Now I could give all kinds of excuses, but I won’t because The Kids and I sat down together and decided that she deserved better: a fenced in yard where she could run and play instead of toys to destroy lying inside a crate or being tied outside where she kept getting tangled and loudly complaining about it.

We’re sad that she’s gone, but she’s now with a family with kids and other dogs to play with so she won’t be alone during the day and I like to think that The Dog Whisperer would be glad too.

This was a tough decision as all that concern the heart should be, but there are times when we all must face up to Life and say I will do this! So adieu Macy girl. Be happy.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Parting Of The Ways

  1. JL Stratton says:

    It is always sad to lose a friend but knowing that your loss and your tough unselfish decision will provide little macy with a life deserved should come as some solace that you’ve done the right thing. I mourn for your loss but praise you making such a decision even though it likely breaks your heart.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I had told The Kids I didn’t want a dog when I was living at Forest Haven because it’s just not right to keep them cooped up all day. Once we moved here, they began to understand just what I had meant…

  2. rumpydog says:

    I can imagine how difficult it is, but it sounds like you did it for all the right reasons.

  3. I’m sure this was very hard, Sandy, but you had unselfish reasons and it sounds like she went to a good family and home…she was adorable, too!

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thanks. And she was sooo strong! I think it was the shepherd in her. The vet disagreed with me, but look at that head and then say she didn’t have shepherd in her. We’re all a little wistful, but also less stressed.

Leave a Reply

