Bags Packed?

I’m in a hurry to get to Salt Lake City which is silly considering the Comic Con won’t start until Sept! I invested almost $200 “in me” for my ticket and that does not even include the hotel or plane fare. I agonized quite awhile as to whether to buy my ticket now or wait until closer to the event. That’s what I did before and I paid dearly for it by Not going And also sacrificing my won free pass. So I pulled out my trusty plastic AGAIN and paid for a Senior Pass. (Age sometimes does have its privileges — along with aches and pains.)

I was feeling sublime until my back decided to remind me to be careful of too much excitement. I’m still not sure how I did it, but it hurt to move: standing was excruciating; even trying to sit up in bed to get up was like someone hitting me with a blunt instrument. I tried putting on a girdle , but none fit snug enough to force everything together, but trying to wiggle into them was like asking someone to jab me with hot pokers. I was popping Advil like candy and even debated lying on the LR rug — though I had no idea IF I’d be able to get up! My son had not seen me Like this in a long time and I pray he never will again because it is downright Scary!

Today I’ve wiggled into a tighter girdle; worn 2 shoes of different heights at the same time and slowly loosened or tricked my back into slipping back into place. Such is the plight of people with “bad backs .” I like to think of us as Walking Miracles, and let’s face it: we know who we are even if no one else does. Onward, but more careful..,

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bags Packed?

  1. JL Stratton says:

    I applaud you in your excitement and wish you the best. Just don’t get too wild or you’ll throw out your back at the worst time!

    • sandrabranum says:

      I’m thinking this was a warning for me to be careful. Kinda reminds me of when I pulled my back in Las Vegas and had to call my BFF Barb (The Gad About) to pick me up at the airport. Can’t do that now cause I’m down here. Ah memories…

Leave a Reply

