Jewelry Box I Found You!

20140411-160834.jpg

It’s been over 2 years since I saw all my jewelry box together. I’ve been called a “pack rat” or worse and I suppose it’s true. My only defense is to confess that I’m really a sentimental romantic and my “treasures” are priceless to me.

When my son and I first moved to the Dothan, AL area so long ago (winter 2005) we left most of our furniture back in storage. It took quite awhile for me to “let go” of it because I felt I was deserting my cherished memories. I realize now that was silly, but don’t we all get that way from time to time?

Anyway to get back to the jewelry box: The last time I had seen it intact was Sept 2010 when I retrieved the gold chain I had given to Mom when I returned from my very first Washington, DC trip courtesy of OSHA – St. Louis.

About that time Bernie Jr was falling in love with his beautiful soon to be wife, Alexa. Somehow when he moved out the jewelry box lid wound up in my bedroom, but the bottom was lost.

I discovered the bottom one day while moving around my treasures here in my apartment in Ozark (only 3 years later), but by then the top was “lost in my space”.

Well last night both pieces were reunited because: I’m moving again! This time the move is to a 2 bedroom apt with its own washer and dryer and a pool on the premises. Yes, the packing is stressful and the move scary, but it will be quieter: Dale County Deputies live in the complex. So yell and scream all you want nosey, noisy neighbors cause moi’ is gonna be Long Gone with my “old” handmade jewelry box intact! (I’ve only had it at least 50 years or longer.) it’s hard to remember when you reach that Geriatric Hippy Stage. Onward …

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jewelry Box I Found You!

  1. JL Stratton says:

    How could you have had that jewelry box for fifty years when you just turned thirty? Just go with it because I recently turn twenty-nine.

  2. Best wishes for a peaceful new home 🙂

  3. Glad that you have found a peaceful neighbourhood! wish you the very best on your new home 🙂

Leave a Reply

