Close Your Eyes

Well here it is:  morning on Thanksgiving Day.  I was not expecting to be up this early,  but then I hadn’t expected to go to bed at 9:30 pm Wednesday either.  The past few days have been pretty hectic for The Kids and moi’ but then Alexa didn’t expect to be laid off either.  The good thing about that is that we all will be visiting her family Thanksgiving day which brings me to the real beginning of my blog post.  (See you knew I’d get around to it eventually, didn’t you?)

Tuesday Alexa and I were discussing stress before I took her to work, and I told her that sometimes when the chaos surrounding you bothers you too much; close your eyes.  Now you may think this is some strange statement; so let me explain by giving you an example from yesterday.  I was doing laundry while Alexa borrowed my car to put in applications around Ozark, AL.  It really got too late for me to be driving home (sunset was at 4:39 CST) and it already was 4:15 when the laundry finished drying.  So I rushed to load up the car and hurry home before it got too dark for me to see the road turns.  I had planned to make a left turn at the light going home the back way to dodge the traffic, but the line was too long for me to wait; so I made a Mario Andretti left turn at a side road before the light and the clothes basket turned on it side (but the clothes stayed inside because it slid up against the wheel well).  I was not so lucky with the 3 liter orange soda that Alexa had bought for me while she was out.  It spewed all over the floor board behind the passenger front seat — and lucky for me — it did this all the way home.  It was already too dark and too cold for me to try to clean it up; too many shadows in the back seat even with the dome lights on; so I opted for my “close your eyes” mantra.  I’ll be spending Thanksgiving morning (once the sun comes up) washing down the rear floor board.  Meanwhile, I must confess that orange scent did make me hungry.  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, macular degeneration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

