Believe

Once upon a time
when I thought the world
was young like me
I believed

In happy ever afters
In someone special
just for me
In fairness and equality

But time has past
and now I see
That happy ever afters
Can be real or imaginary

Someone special
just for me
can be real,
but not necessarily

And fairness and equality
can be real
or not

So now
this geriatric me
just believes.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Believe

  1. batoolrumi says:

    This is amazing. I love the down-to-earth-feeling you bring out along with the this-is-life impression. Yet it might be sad, but I see it as a strength you have acknowledged within yourself (and I totally do relate to that poem of yours!).

Leave a Reply

