The Gift Bag

Parenting: the toughest job in the world if you do it right.

ahhh_poetry

I wrote this today.  It was an unexpected day off due to snow…no school.  A chance to do something different or more of the same.  I chose something different. I chose to write about my encounter with my son.


He hates me.  I see it in his eyes.  He wasn’t happy to see me, even though I was, in my own motherly sort of way.  I had finally found him.  I gave him an uncomfortable hug from an odd angle, him sitting, me standing, short portable wall in the way.  “How are you?” I asked with a smile.  He stared, that blank “I don’t give a shit” stare.  “I bought you some socks, some wool socks.”  I said as I gave him the gift bag that had been hanging in the hallway since Christmas. The gift bag that went with us whenever we ran errands  in case we happened to…

View original post 1,069 more words

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

