I Did, I Did

Bam!  Bam!  Bam!  Three strikes on the wall with my fist.  What a way to start a Sunday, but that’s what happened.  You see I have new neighbors next to me and they are very young and volatile.  I don’t know if they are just too emotional or really caustic, but they get loud when they fight and (from the sounds) seem to get physical.

I spent all day Monday (Oct 14th) listening to them cuss out each other with language that would make a sailor blush and slamming the front or back door as they left.  Finally I’d had enough of  turning up the tv so I could hear it, and I banged three times on my living room wall.  Oh the silence was wonderful, and lasted about two hours.  They spent the rest of the week bickering with each other, but not being downright hateful by calling each other names.  (Thank God they have no children.)

All that changed this morning when somebody slammed their back door and scared me.  I was sitting in my bed, propped up with pillows, reading the Sunday paper and hit my head on my wall due to the vibrations from the slamming door.  (Yes it really was slammed that hard.)  Anyway the yelling started and it was louder than the fan I had circulating the air in my bedroom.  They got louder and louder and more hateful to each other.  I heard sounds like people being shoved into furniture (even though the fan was on high speed); so I banged on the wall and got quiet for about 15 minutes.  Then it started again; so I texted the owner of the apartment complex and told him about it.  Someone did come over and speak with them.  Perhaps things will be quiet now.

I feel bad about resorting to complaining about them, but truly feel I saved them from a police visit.  Domestic violence calls are supposed to be the most dangerous calls, and now I understand why.

 

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Did, I Did

  1. Bongo says:

    Hopefully they’ll realize others can hear them and learn to tone it down for good.

  2. JL Stratton says:

    Some people get very emotional, and without proper emotional intelligence, lash out at each other physically. It is the times we are living in. Keep your phone in a ready place and call the police next time you believe they are becoming physical. I know how hard it is to make a call like that and add police involvement in their already complicated lives, but sometimes that’s what it takes. Otherwise, you might one of them getting real quite for a long time. Domestic abuse is usually not solved simply by a good talking-to by a landlord. Sometimes people need to be physically separated so they don’t kill each other. I’m certainly glad you are still safe.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thanks Jim. That’s one of the biggest reasons why I dread the thought of moving — I feel comfortable here. I miss having The Kids close by, but thank God they’re only 3 miles away. Of course I know just how far 3 miles can be in an emergency; so I try really hard not to dwell on it.

  3. ahhhpoetry says:

    aghhh we have neighbors that are like that in a different way, it’s called neighbor abuse. They have no jobs, but still seem to have money for surround sound, and beer. They sit outside at night in their driveway, because they have no car and they drink and talk loudly and get pissed off at each other. then they wonder why the police is called at 2 in the morning!! This is on a work night!! I have to get up at 5 in the morning! So I feel for you.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thanks, I feel so much better knowing I’m not the only one with this problem. I spoke with the landlord and I know he contacted them because they rearranged their bedroom furniture, but that’s not the same as keeping their hateful mouths shut. When they started again last night I turned my tv volume up loud and they quieted down for about 15 minutes. I’ve already decided that if they break my dresser mirror they’re paying for it; I just haven’t told them yet.

Leave a Reply

