What’s The Point?

Well it’s almost October 1 which mean it’s time for me to see the doctor so I can get my meds refilled.  We have a “system” my doctor and I.  I see him every 6  months; he asked me how I am; I say “fine” and he gives me my prescriptions.  If I had my way I wouldn’t see him at all unless I needed him, but he makes me visit every 6 months; so I have no choice.

Sometimes I really need him, and can’t get an appointment, but that’s life.  I’ve been very fortunate to not have to see him in the 2 years since he’s been my doctor.  Once I moved to Ozark, AL I seriously considered getting another doctor, but didn’t want the hassle of finding one; so every 6 months I drive the 60 miles (round trip) to see this doctor.

He became my doctor purely by chance when the previous one said I couldn’t see him anymore when I challenged him regarding how his nurse drew blood.  She would come in, and using a pillow under your arm, draw the blood.  She didn’t wear any gloves and she always complained that my arm wouldn’t lay on the pillow flat enough.  One day I had had enough so I asked her about wearing gloves and she asked me if I had a contagious disease!  (Like by than it would have mattered anyway.)

When the doctor came in I told him about our conversation and mentioned that his nurse didn’t even wash her hands before drawing the blood, and that’s when he said I needed to find another doctor.  (He sees Medicare patients, and perhaps they don’t know or care that his procedures suck.)

Anyway he gave me a 6 month prescription so I was covered while I searched for another doctor, and that’s how I wound up with this particular one.  What’s funny about how I acquired my current doctor is that he had been partners with my doctor before the one with the lousy nurse.  That doctor told me he couldn’t treat me any more when I refused to go into the hospital and let him run a bunch of tests that would have cost me.  He also sees Medicare patients, and I guess he’s used to the Government paying him and the hospital bill.  My insurance only pays so much and I have to pay the difference.  (That’s why I quit getting the eye shots; I couldn’t afford the $202.00 out of pocket expense for every shot.)

Anyway when my current doctor left that doctor’s practice and started his own, I went into the office and asked his clerk if there would be a problem with me seeing him, and she said no.  That was 2 years ago, and in that time I’ve only seen him once and that was because his Physician Assistant was unavailable.

Now I realize that some people would consider me a difficult patient, but doctor’s are not gods (although some believe they are) and my doctor and I are partners in my health care, and if they don’t want it that way; I guess I’ll just have to take a hike find another one.  That’s why I ‘m not happy with the idea of being forced to go on Medicare eventually, but that’s another story.  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s The Point?

  1. Happy October, my friend!

    May this month be a beautiful and wonderful one for you and your loved ones!

    Take care and be well, always~ Cheers!! 😀

Leave a Reply

