Bleach Is My Friend

Well yesterday I posted a poem called “Flush It”  on my blog https://sandrabranum.wordpress.com/2013/09/19/flush-it/  and today awakened to more “glub glubs” coming from the bathroom.  Once I realized what I was hearing I got up and plodded my way to the bathroom where I discovered my tub filled with smelly sludge and again no water in the commode.  I peeked outside and saw some sort of truck, but couldn’t tell what kind it was.  I hurriedly dressed and stepped outside to find the sewer guy snaking out the pipes.  My poor car looked like it was being attacked by a long silver snake, and don’t get me started on the sludge around my tires!

Further down on the walkway — specifically where The Kids had lived —  was a basket filled with wet towels.  I waved at the people now living in that apartment and got ignored.  (Hey I’m not the one who told you to move in there!)  I spoke with the sewer guy and was told that they’d been called because of the backup and that they’d cleaned out both the main pipes, but still couldn’t find the clog.

I wasn’t going to wait around and smell that shit smell anymore; so I called The Kids and asked it I could come over.  I told Alexa what had happened and bless her heart she said they’d probably get blamed for that too!  After visiting for about 3 hours I steeled my resolve and went shopping for bleach so I could face the shitty tub dragon.  (I also got ice cream.  Hey I need all the morale I can get!)

I waved to my neighbors all standing around in the parking lot and promptly got ignored again when I returned (guess Alexa was right after all;) so I took my plastic bags inside and turned on the fan in the bathroom … and the fan in the bedroom and began to plan just how I was going to get rid of that sludge.  I pondered for a bit and pulled the little metal hair catcher from the tub’s drain opening and placed the stopper I had bought over the hole.  I got my bleach and poured some in the tub; stuck my head inside by the shower head and promptly washed my hair!  Then I left the bathroom, combed out my wet hair and plodded into the kitchen for my ice cream.

The ice cream really is good medicine for what ailed me, and after awhile I returned to the bathroom and cleaned up the tub.  It’ll be awhile before the bleach smell is gone, but I’ve got my fans circulating the air and more ice cream so I should be ok for the rest of the evening and my poor bath tub never looked so…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bleach Is My Friend

  1. JL Stratton says:

    Sounds to me like your day started out crappy, but ended on a sweeter note.

  2. Picuresque and funny, Sandra. Pass the ice cream. I had to have my dear cat put to sleep last night.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I’m sorry for your loss. Losing a beloved pet can be devastating. Sometimes I still cry over Tanya Puppy and she’s been gone since 1988. Some cyber Rocky Road’s coming your way. Regards, Sandra

Leave a Reply

