Prayers & Descisions

My son, Bernie Jr, has given me permission to write more blogs about him and this one was inspired by the happy news of another pregnancy (my cousin) in our family…

I married late in life (34).  Actually there were times when I thought I never would marry, and there were times when I wished I hadn’t.  (That’s what sometimes happens with “romantics” because we have this fairy tale ideal about what marriage should be and when reality hits it’s like an anvil crushing our dreams… but I digress).

I was 36 when I got pregnant which was a miracle since doctor‘s had said I would never get pregnant (let alone carry to term) since my pelvis was tilted back and down.  I proved the doctor’s wrong with a lotta help from God and my “miracle” shoes:  a pair of 3″ high slip on espadrilles.  I would sit on the side of the bed and slip my feet into them and then stand up looking like the hunch back of Notre Dame and “walk” my hands up my thighs as I slowly straightened and stood upright.  I did that through the last 1/2 of  my pregnancy and spent a lot of time saying silent “Thank you” prayers because of it.

It was a rough pregnancy but worth it because I have a wonderful son and beautiful daughter-in-law because of it.  But wearing those espadrilles wasn’t really the worst part; I had to have an ultrasound in the beginning, and it showed that Bernie’s head was too small for his body which indicated that he could have Down’s Syndrome so the doctor’s wanted me to have amniocentesis:  sticking a l-o-n-g needle in through the belly button and drawing out some of the sac’s fluid for testing.  Since I knew this could be dangerous to my baby if the doctor’s missed, I chose not to have it done and was prepared to raise my child regardless of the outcome.  I even told my husband I would raise him alone if need be (which did later happen, but not for this particular reason).

It was a rough pregnancy, but well worth it and I thank God everyday for Bernard Branum Jr.  And might consider getting married again if I could find someone as wonderful and helpful as he, but that’s another story.

My son and daughter-in-law (Bernard Jr and Alexa) celebrating his 26th birthday.

My son and daughter-in-law (Bernard Jr and Alexa) celebrating his 26th birthday.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

