Tissues And Tears

Children have an innate sense of when to cry; that is until they become socialized (or is it anesthetized) to when to cry.  I mean when you’re little, if you get a booboo, you cry!  But as we grow older we’re told to stop being a baby and toughen up.  So by the time we’re adults we become even more confused when the tears sneak up on us.

I fight this problem daily in some form or other.  Memories (or The Fear:  my vision loss) create a mixed bag of emotions and I can either give into the tears or toughen up and try to ignore them.  Sometimes it works; sometimes it doesn’t.  With this in mind I’m giving you this link to Johnny Ray‘s “Cry”  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QXL6-hkB_JY  which is quite appropriate for how I’ve felt these past few days.

Bernie & Alexa are moving 3 miles away!  I know:  how silly of me to be so emotional when it’s only 3 miles, but it represents a loss of comfort and maybe even security (the fear again) vs my wanting them to be someplace where they’ll be happy.   Now I could fight the tears and maybe I’d win; or wind up with a case of hysteria.  I choose to grab the tissues  and dab my eyes until all those pesky salty drops are gone and then face the future (and my fear) as defiantly as possible; so brace yourself Kids cause it’s gonna be a bumpy ride until you drive away in that U-Haul!  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tissues And Tears

  1. JL Stratton says:

    Sometimes a good cry can cleanse the soul and ease the mind. Usually though, it just ends in a headache.

Leave a Reply

