Flyers For Dreams

0813131010We don’t always get to do what we want, but that’s life.  Take the rodeo for instance: I love the rodeo; so when I discovered that one was being held in Ozark, AL I was so excited.  But then I found out it would be in the evening and that squelched my excitement real quick.   I did ask Bernie & Alexa (my son & daughter-in-law) if they wanted to go to the rodeo, but Alexa had to be at work at 6:00 am the next day and I’m now smart enough to know not to drive after dark.  (Every time I think about breaking that rule something happens to remind me not to.)  So, it was goodbye rodeo.  I brooded for a few days, but rain came along to reconfirm my resolve not to drive at night; so I stayed home and tried not to think about all those beautiful horses … and hunky guys.

At the bright, sunny new week’s beginning I received an email from one of my writing buddies inviting me to the dress rehearsal for his new written play.  I had told him years ago that I couldn’t afford to pay to attend the theater due to never having extra money (which is a plight we all have from time to time); so bless him he regularly sends me invitations to see the dress rehearsals.  I’ve lost count how many written plays he’s had produced since moving  here to the Dothan area, and sometimes I am envious because I’m not that fortunate.   Anyway I digress…

I called Alexa and told her about the rehearsal and asked if she and Bernie would want to attend.   Naturally it was starting at 7:00 pm on August 21; so unless I had a driver I was once again not going.  She said she didn’t know how she’d feel when she got off work (and had to be back at 6:00 am the next day) but said not to worry cause Bernie would take me.

You can’t imagine how frustrating it can be: wanting so much to do something but not;  just doing something so simple as going out to the car at night (even with a flashlight) can be pure drudgery.  Naturally it just had to rain that day; so I didn’t know for certain until Bernie got home from work if I would go or not.

We left for the 25 mile drive to Dothan 1 1/2 hours before curtain time.  There was no rain, but the closer we go to Dothan the more that seemed to change.  First we saw dark clouds and then lightening struck about 4 miles from where we were.  Bernie & I discussed where we wanted to stop to eat and decided on McDonald’s which we would pass shortly.  We parked, went inside, and were told “cash only;” so we left.  We then drove to Burger King and once again heard “cash only” but it was because the lightening had shorted out the credit card reader (so much for technology and not carrying cash).  We got back in the car and proceeded toward Dothan’s Cultural Arts Center (passing by another McDonald’s which actually was the one we had originally planned to stop at) and they accepted my plastic!

The play was great and my wonderful driver and I had another memorable evening.  Alexa dear, you missed out on an exciting dinner and a wonderful play.  Maybe next time…

photo (1)

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flyers For Dreams

  1. JL Stratton says:

    I’m so sorry for your plight. I too have suffered from some eye/vision issues lately. My vision seems to be deteriorating so quickly, I can’t keep up with new prescriptions. Anyway, If I could work out a ride for you to our writer’s group meetings with something I’m sure you would come to like, would you consider? I miss you there.

Leave a Reply

