Remember When?

Elvishttp://www.elvisconcerts.com/newspapers/press291.htm

September 10, 1970!  What a day that was.  How excited we Elvis fans were to know our King was arriving.  This photo was taken with a telescope lens at the airport on the day Elvis arrived.  One of the ladies I worked with at General American Life Ins Co had taken the day off and she went to the airport to see Elvis arrive.

It was hard to work that day as we all waited for the concert, but somehow we managed to do it.  Once work was over I took the bus to my friend Barb’s house and got ready for the concert.  We would never have gotten such good seats (6th row) if Barb had not gotten up before 6am the day the tickets went on sale and stood in line for us.

I told my friends at work that Barb would get the tickets even before asking her because I knew how much she loved Elvis.  I bet she would have done it even if we hadn’t paid for her concert ticket, but that just didn’t seem fair; so I told the girls she’d do it if we bought her ticket.  Barb told me later that some people had camped outside of Kiel‘s ticket office all night.

I’ve posted a link to a writeup about the concert which I think is pretty unflattering, but then I was one of those women thrilled to see Elvis on stage.  If I’d known he was staying at The Chase Park Plaza Hotel, I might have tried to get in; I know Barb would have driven me if I’d asked.

I remember that night so vividly:  the excitement in the air almost “popped” like electricity.  And when his theme music started, the crowd went wild!  I would never have thought that it could grow more intense, but that’s the way Elvis was and I am grateful that (thanks to Barb) I got to see him live.  Who could have imagined that less than 7 years later our King could be dead.  Hail King Elvis!  Your legacy lives on…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in friendship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remember When?

  1. JL Stratton says:

    interesting post, but on September 10th, 1970 I might have been preparing for the first grade. I didn’t really know who Elvis was yet, but people said my dad kind of looked like him. Funny, the looks didn’t make it to my generation.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Few recording artists have had the staying power of Elvis. Of course that could be because of his legion of fans and impersonators. I mean: Would you want to impersonate Bing Crosby? 🙂

  2. Thanks for linking our page. Great to hear your story.

  3. Great memories, Sandy, and I really liked him, too, and saw him live 2 years before he died. I was much younger, but I have an older sister who really liked him…he died much too young, but will always be the King! 🙂

Leave a Reply

