Memory Lane

Come walk with me

down Memory Lane

I hope it brings you smiles

and no pain.

For it’s good to stroll

from time to time

where our memories dwell.

It helps to cement

our view of where we’ve been

And where we’re going.

So come stroll

with me for a while

To share my memories

And then take time

to peruse your own.

And be better for it.

This apt began as a carport and was later renovated into an apt for Sis & Jeremy's father.

This apt began as a carport and was later renovated into an apt for Sis & Jeremy’s father.

My high school photo.  Everyone said the color one didn't look like me.

My high school photo. Everyone said the color one didn’t look like me.

Can you say "Flower Child?"

Can you say “Flower Child?”

Sis' high school photo.

Sis’ high school photo.

The Old Baptist Church bldg where Sis & I grew up

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Memory Lane

  1. Gardner's World says:

    Good also to recognise all those achievements, however small, along the way

  2. JL Stratton says:

    Yep, memories. Seeping through one’s soul like absinthe, distorted and blurred ’round the edges by time. Great poem, and I love all the pictures. Thank you for sharing these moments of your life. And that last photo of you in the red dresss? Definitely flower child! I remember you talking about your childhood in that old baptist church on more than one occasion. The location must have quite an impact on you.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Yes the old building did have quite an impact Jim, but the building burned down last year and I must say I grieved quite a while because of it. When I returned this past April for my cousin Carla’s benefit the only place we went to in Cahokia was the White Castle.

  3. It’s amazing how much we discover about our past when we look through old pictures. Like magic, they sweep us back in time and often hide little clues to our world back then, just waiting to be discovered.

Leave a Reply

