Research, Research, Research

Research time sometimes happens when you can’t think of anything to write about.  That’s sort of what happened to me today.  I was going to write about Scott Bakula after researching him singing on YouTube and discovered songs from Man Of La Mancha (at least the Quantum Leap version which is called: Catch A Falling Star).  I actually viewed that episode a few nights ago when I was doing laundry at The Kids’ apartment.  It was wonderful to see the episode again.  (I have it on tape, but don’t trust my vcr since it ate some of my prized recordings.)  That’s the beauty of YouTube and Netflix (which the kids have) because you get the opportunity to explore (as Kirk would say) “strange new worlds”.  I have found John Cullum singing but alas, not from that Quantum Leap episode.  When I first taped the episode so long ago, I did it because I love Man Of La Mancha so much.  I had seen it in the ’70s at the American Theatre in St. Louis, MO and  — until that day — had not known that Richard Kiley could sing!  I also found him on YouTube singing excerts from the musical and must admit I got a bit teary eyed, but that’s what happens when you are lucky enough to find ways to evoke wonderful memories.

My son, Bernie, grew up listening to Gilbert & Sullivan and watching movie musicals as well as the normal Sat morning cartoons.  I would pull out a cherished tape and we would watch it together and sometimes even sing along (usually off key, but nobody’s perfect).  As he matured his tastes changed, but he’d still sit with me and sing along from time to time.  (His voice got better; I’m not so sure about mine.)  One summer in the ’90s John Cullum came to The Muny Opera to star in Man Of La Mancha and Bernie said he wanted to see it!  So I did what any other mother who wants her son to be cultured did: we bought and ate hot dogs so I could budget for tickets to see John Cullum perform.  Bernie liked the show so much that we went out and bought the movie version starring Peter O’Toole and Sophia Loren.  I never cared that much for the movie, but to this day Bernie still talks about seeing John Cullum and Peter O’Toole portray Cervantes; so it turned out to be both a history and culture lesson.   What memories will you make today My Blogging Friends?

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

