Hello There!

Well I’m finally back after being on hiatus due to not having a working computer.  My laptop finally died due to overwork.   Well actually the hard drive died, and I wanted to wait for my son to be off work since he knows so much more about these things than I do. (Actually some days I wonder how I manage to remember to use my unsmart cell phone.)

Sunday’s paper showed all sorts of sales for dads, but that meant driving into Dothan, AL which isn’t very far, but I’m getting to the point that any kind of traffic tires me out. You see it’s the constant staring into space so I don’t miss anything that tires me so because it takes so long now for my eyes to adjust. I think it’s because I’m losing my depth perception, but why pay another $200 to find out I’m right when I’m still paying off my bill for my previous shots ($205 each visit out of pocket expense after my insurance pays) and that may have increased since I haven’t seen the retinologist since Nov 2012. I finally did get the old putzy retinologist paid; YIPPEE for me!

Anyway to continue,  we (The Kids: Bernie & Alexa as I call them) all went to WalMart and looked at computers. I spent some time pondering screen sizes, where certain keys were located and the price. I finally decided on another Dell like my old one from 5 years ago. I would probably still be using it if I could connect to AOL, but when I had to upgrade to AOL 9 the modem wouldn’t connect and dial. That’s when I switched to the laptop that just died.  You know the one I’ve complained about since I moved to Ozark, AL.  (Wish I could use it now, but that’s just because I have to get used to this new one.)

When we returned Bernie came over and set the new one up and it is different.  It brings up a screen that looks like a touch screen, but isn’t.  Then you have to move your finger around on the mouse pad to find whatever it is you need.  I must do things the turtle  slow way and keep getting out of things to relocate where I should be.  My son said I could bring the laptop to their apartment, but I declined.  It’s kind of difficult to explain why, but it’s because I’m already feeling overwhelmed and need the security of my apartment while I slowly sally forth into this new computer adventure.  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, macular degeneration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

