Earthscapes’ Beauty

These are stamps purchased from the Post Office.

These are stamps purchased from the Post Office.

This is a photo of my new Forever stamps purchase. When I go to the Post Office I always ask to see what stamps are available because I figure if I’m paying for them I may as well get something I like.  I have purchased movie star stamps, director’s stamps, muscle cars stamps and now these.  The 1st line is called “Natural” and from left to right are Glacier and icebergs, Volcanic crater, Geothermal spring, Butts in early morning fog and Inland marsh.  The 2nd line is called “Agricultural” and from left to right are:  Salt evaporation ponds, Log rafts on way to sawmill, Center-pivot irrigation, Cherry orchard and Cranberry harvest.  The 3rd row is called “Urban” and consists of a Residential subdivision, Barge fleeting, Railroad roundhouse, Skyscraper apartments and Highway interchange.

I do so love to look at these stamps because they remind me of my Earth Science college class so long ago.  I remember young Bernie and I looking at the book’s pictures and then watching the weekly telecourse assignment.  He often liked to look at the colorful photos and would ask me questions about oceanic volcanoes and the Lost City of Atlantis.  Then we would go outside and sit on Mom’s back porch and look at the stars.  I must confess that I was never very good at finding the constellations, but we tried anyway.

Ah what fond memories for us all, including Mom.  She would often comment on how she enjoyed listening to me and Bernie as we sat on the porch trying to find those constellations.  So my blogging friends what kind of memories will you make this week?  I hope they’re good ones

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Earthscapes’ Beauty

  1. ah, lovely post here, Sandra, a few things I can relate to. My wife buys me first day covers of any stamps that she thinks I would be interested in and my nana bequeathed me her collection when she passed away a couple of years ago. I’m not a stamp collector but I do like the ones I have. I remember favorite books in my youth that had pictures that would make me think of things like Atlantis or the realm of faerie etc, I would sit for ages just looking at the picture and imagining, lovely memories, oh for the time to accomplish that all over again! I totally relate to your stargazing too! I love looking at the night sky, i often go out in to the garden when everyone else is asleep and just look up and wonder, there is a tiny constelation that looks like a question mark, I have claimed it for my own! Thank you for sharing these precious memories, Sandra, it was lovely to remember my own, you are an inspiration! Best wishes, Baldy 🙂

    • sandrabranum says:

      Gosh Mr. Oops, you’re so sweet. I sometimes wish I could write fiction, but my narratives suck and brevity seems to be my calling which is why I supposes I write poetry and nonfiction. Now IF I could just get a little more “creative”… Onward!

Leave a Reply

