Tapes, Tapes, Oh My!

My brand new bookcase which is now filled with tapes.

My brand new bookcase which is now filled with tapes.

It’s hard for me to believe that I had so many boxes of VHS tapes in my bedroom at the trailer in Haleburg, AL.  That was the only way I could ensure that they wouldn’t get thrown away like so many of my other stuff did that had been stored on the back porch.  Most of my tapes were in a box that I had shipped UPS down to Haleburg  before I ever left Cahokia, IL in 2005 and it weighed 75 lbs!

When it was time for me to move this past Nov the tapes that had been in that big box had to be put into smaller ones.  And they had been scattered around my 1 bedroom apt’s living room since I moved into it in Dec.  Yes it was an obstacle course, but I had to wait for money before I could purchase something to store all my “treasures.”  I mean I had Magnum P.I. tapes that I’d taped when my son was in diapers when Magnum was in syndication in the 1990’s.  These weren’t all the episodes; they were my favorites that I’d painstakingly awakened at midnight and manually taped.

I’ve got movies I’ve taped from the tv.  Do you remember The Two Worlds of Jennie Logan?  I taped that one years ago.  It’s a time traveling story starring Lindsay Wagner and Mark Singer.  I have many more, but you now understand how much I love my old movies.  Someday perhaps I’ll get them transferred to DVDs, but for now I’ll just enjoy my tapes.  Anyone have a large bookcase they wish to sell?  I need another one for the rest of my “treasures.”

Boxes and boxes of tapes.

Boxes and boxes of tapes.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

