Road Trip

Cramped in the car’s back seat

as the excitement builds.

Another mile marker flashes by

my heart beats faster.

My legs grow numb as

the beats pound inside my ears.

Damn

Road construction slows me down,

and I’m not the driver.

If I feel so constrained,

how does she feel?

I squirm in my seat.

Another mile marker inches by

the cones are finally gone!

Punch it and speed on…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Road Trip

  1. Great poem and visuals, Sandra!

  2. I’ve been following your blog for a while now and have nominated your blog for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award. Check out the nomination and if you accept follow the instructions at the bottom of my post. http://eyecanthearu.com/2013/04/24/dragons-loyalty-award/

  3. Beautiful poem Sandra. Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

