So Simple – Not

It seemed like such a good idea at the time:  drive across the street and purchase a Sunday newspaper.  Of course I neglected to acknowledge:  (1) it was just barely past 5:00 AM, (2) it was still dark outside, and (3) simple ideas often go awry.  I counted out my quarters and grabbed my purse; crossed the apartment courtyard to where my car was parked and climbed inside.

The car usually stays parked in front of my son and daughter-in-law’s apartment because of her varied work shifts.  There are times when this bothers me because I miss being able to look out my little peep-hole and see it parked there; waiting for me to decide if I want/need to go somewhere.  But I can truthfully say that after this morning I don’t think that will be a problem.

The restaurant across the street was closed; so I decided to drive the short distance (perhaps 1 1/2 miles) to the 24HR truck stop.  I had forgotten how hard it is for me to see because I haven’t done any night driving since November when I was moving my treasures from Haleburg to Ozark, AL.  I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to see the turn for the truck stop; so I turned onto a side road, and proceeded to drive right past the truck stop!  And as if that wasn’t enough, a semi decided to turn onto my road.  I had to find a place to turn around which is not easy when you’re on an unfamiliar road with a semi behind you.  I mean that’s difficult enough for someone with good night vision (which we know is not me).

Anyway I kept passing side roads that I couldn’t see until passing them, and finally drove up to a lighted church parking lot.  This was my chance; I’d just duck in there and turn around.  I proceeded to make my right turn.  There was no entrance!  Having the quick reflexes of a geriatric hippy I just stopped on the shoulder and watched the semi pass me.  He drove so slow that I thought he was going to stop to see if I was alright.  Bless his little trucker heart!  Anyway I pulled off the shoulder; drove up the 100 ft to the turn and weaved around the parking lot to continue my journey back to the truck stop.

As you can tell from this post, I made it home safely and have learned a valuable lesson:  wait for the sunlight Silly!  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, macular degeneration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

