Epiphanies And Fingernails

I have written before about Mom having long fingernails so that she could light her cigarettes.  I’m just sorry it took me so long to figure out the reason for it.  I may have been more understanding if she had told me why.  For example, when Dad died Mom sneaked into the mortuary’s main floor bathroom and chain smoked at least 2 cigarettes every time she “had to go” as she put it.

She was just lucky that Mr. Braun knew her and Dad for years; or he might have thrown her out (or at the very least had either me or my sister confiscate her smokes).  Now you’d think I’d be smart enough to have l-o-n-g fingernails, but I don’t smoke so I really don’t need them.  Besides the last time I tried to light a lighter I almost burned my nose and it’s little!

Mr. Braun was a soft-spoken man.  I don’t know if you’d say he was a typical funeral director.  I mean just what is typical in that line of work.  I remember when Dad was being prepped for visitation, Mom came in and discovered they were going to put a clip on tie on him.  Mom said, “Oh no.  Ace would sit up if you did that.”  Mr. Braun looked at Mom and said, “Well we can’t have that Mrs. Crowder.”  Then he had to go try to find someone who could tie a bow tie.  And with considerable investigating, he did find one:  a lodge buddy of Dad’s.  Now I can’t help but wonder just how many men today can tie a bow tie.  Can you?

 

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

