Whine Awhile; Then Go To “Hawaii”

I’ve been depressed lately for so many reasons, but mostly because of the frustration caused by my deteriorating vision.  You see there’s a dance this Friday night (Good Friday) in a town that’s only 10 miles away, but it might as well be 100 because:  (1) I can’t drive at night without plenty of outside light to assist me — yes a spotlight would help, but somehow I don’t think the local police would like it.  (2) My daughter-in-law works Friday evening and will have my car. (3) It’s for seniors; so my son couldn’t take me even if I did sweet talk him into it.  (Where’s my chauffeur — The Gad About — when I need her?  Oh yeah she’s snowbound in the St. Louis metropolitan area.)

Anyway the angst got to be too much for me today; so I just sat down, grabbed the tissues and did my boohooing for a bit.  (It’s getting more frequent lately; so I may have to see the doctor for some “happy pills.”)  Many seniors get depressed; so I’m not alone, but sometimes I sure feel that way.

Anyway after disposing of my soggy tissues, I mopped my bathroom floor.  Now this doesn’t sound very helpful, but I mopped my floor with Ocean Breeze shampoo!  I often use it for washing my hair when I feel blue; sudsing out little items, etc because it reminds me of the ocean which always makes me feel better, and if that’s not enough to improve my spirits, I then sit down and watch Magnum p.i.  

Good ol’, sexy Magnum always makes me feel better because he carries me back to a happier time — the time when I lived in Panama City, FL before I got to Senior status.  The time when I wore sunglasses and had sun frosted hair; when I walked along the beach and felt the wonderful squishy sand between my toes, and sometimes even got chased by seagulls, especially if they saw food.  So now you know why I sometimes mop my floors with Ocean Breeze shampoo.

We all have tricks we use to help keep us balanced.  Mom used to regularly “go to Hawaii” by watching the original Hawaii Five-O tv show.  She would even arise in the middle of the night just to watch Jack Lord and James MacArthur because the episodes carried her back to the ’70s when her eyesight was good and she and Dad visited Hawaii.  She used to love to feel close to the buildings that she’d seen so long ago; especially the opening scene with Jack Lord atop the hotel because that was the hotel they stayed in.  She knew the episodes so well, that she’d often complain to me when one had been cut.  At the time I couldn’t understand this, but that has since changed because I’m that way about my Magnum.  Aah my Magnum!  Thanks for listening letting me whine.  I think it’s time to return to Hawaii.  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, macular degeneration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whine Awhile; Then Go To “Hawaii”

  1. sandrabranum says:

    Sorry, I clicked the “Like” button again! See I told you my eyes were really bothering me. Regards, Sandra

  2. JL Stratton says:

    Everybody needs to whine once in awhile. I feel your pain though because, in my advancing age, I’ve developed unreliable vision in my right eye. I often listen to music to help cheer me up. I have a whole library of songs from my youth and it sometimes brings back happy thoughts when I listen.

    I still need to call you and give you that book. I’d love it if you were able to come up with something I could put on a video for that story. I’ve probably driven past your house a number of times but forget to put the book in the car or even call.

    The best to you. I miss you when I go to our local meetings. I don’t think you realize how much you brought to others and how you brightened their day.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Jim, you’re so sweet. The Webers contacted me too about possibly meeting them in Dothan and as I told them, my daughter-in-law borrows my car for work; so I sometimes don’t get out when I want. Other times I have the car, but not the inclination. I know this great Dr who gives eye shots; just don’t go to Dr. Thompson. I could never put into words how he was, and when I found Dr. Willingham, a patient waiting for Dr. Chris (W) called Thompson “brutal”. That pretty well sums up my views on him.

      You could mail the book to me. Since it’s a paperback it should fit in my little mailbox. Thanks for the encouraging words regarding the group. I don’t drive much at night anymore; hell I have enough trouble in daylight! 🙂 🙂

  3. I agree, Sandra, everyone needs their time to whine and you wrote your thoughts out beautifully, too! I wish I had some magical words to make you feel better, but as long as you can depart from the whining moments and fly back to Hawaii for cheering, that’s a good sign…all I can say is hang in there and take one day at a time…that’s my motto for trials in our lives…

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thank you for the pep talk Lauren. It’s greatly helped. I even went out today to get my hair fixed for Easter, but alas forgot where all the beauty shops were. Perhaps tomorrow…

  4. sandrabranum says:

    Yeah “gettin’ beautified” as Mom used to say really does help. Hope your Good Friday really was good.

Leave a Reply

