Home, I Hear Ya Calling!

My son and daughter-in-law are about to return with me to beautiful, gettoesque Cahokia, IL.  You see my cousin Carla — whom I haven’t seen in about 30 years — is returning to do a benefit concert that her friends have put together to help her and her family as they struggle with fighting cancer.

Cancer:  just the word alone evokes such feelings in people, especially those who have fought the disease.  Cancer:  the word dredges up memories of Mom and her terminal lung cancer which I’m not ready to share with you yet because I’m still hurting and it’s been almost 11 years.  (Besides I tell you enough of Mom’s and my eyes vision loss as it is.)

April 20 is the day of the benefit concert and we are driving the 700+ miles to spend one or maybe two whole days in the St. Louis Metropolitan Area and then make the long drive back.  Alexa and Bernie will be doing most of the driving while I navigate.  Alexa figures it’s about a 9 hour drive each way, but I told her to figure on 12 because of traffic in Birmingham (AL), Nashville (TN) and whatever “big” city we drive through.  The last time I drove the route I stayed over night at some swanky motel going and returning, but that was due to my eyes.  (See there I go again telling you about my eyes.)  Anyway, come on April 20!  I’ve got places to go and thanks to my wonderful Kids (as I call them) people to see.  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home, I Hear Ya Calling!

  1. This sounds like a wonderful adventure for a good cause, Sandra, and I wish you very safe travels, too! xx

Leave a Reply

